zurnal24 Forumzurnal24.info

Forum / Writing Careers22

ESL writer's chances of making good money as a freelance writer?

Zahar 1 | -  
Apr 13, 2007 | #1
Is it possible to make $1000 or more a month as an ESL writer? I've been learning English for 10+ years and I think I'm not worse than most American "native" writers. But I live in Philippines - does it automatically disqualify me from getting an academic freelance writing position in a good American company? Thanks,

Zahar
Major 39 | 1,367 ☆☆☆☆  
Apr 13, 2007 | #2
I think this is possible (especially if you work for an American company that pays much more than foreign companies). However, you'd have to be very familiar with the American schooling system, citation styles, etc. Also, you'd probably have to take assignments on high-school/college level (mostly). Don't think you'd be able to write graduate level papers.
Amy1978  
Apr 13, 2007 | #3
My advice is to never work for a company that tells potential customers that your skill level in English language writing is higher than what is really is. In doing so, they are paying you FAR LESS than what a person with those true skills should earn, and they are deceiving customers at the same time.
rat289 1 | 142  
Apr 14, 2007 | #4
Having been a writer for some time now... If I were you I'd find a different field of writing to get into. Not because you're an "ESL writer" but because the wages in this field aren't impressive enough to be worth the time and energy.

That said, if you must write in this field I would advise you to keep plugging away. In the end, the only people who care about where you're from are people like Amy, what really matters is the quality of your final product. Good luck.
Amy1978  
Apr 14, 2007 | #5
what really matters is the quality of your final product.