zurnal24 Forumzurnal24.info

Forum / Writing Careers11

A grad-school dropout getting started as a freelance writer. Advice needed.

Tiffany_Case 1 | 1  
Dec 05, 2010 | #1
Yes, it's another plea for advice. I am a grad-school dropout with a lot of college teaching experience (adjunct faculty!!!) and a whole bunch of academic writing already under my belt. I am going to be spending the next three months on medical bedrest, in desperate need of cash. I can churn out college level A papers like a ********, and freelancing seems like my best bet for some income over the coming weeks.

I get that with the site rules/prevailing culture, it won't do me any good to post a request for a list of legitimate online essay brokers. It seems like such requests just prompt spam from the fraudsters and snark from the folks who are lined up with real gigs.

So how about some general advice instead? How do I get started? I don't really have time to establish freelance writing credentials on my own, but every essay broker I have found online seems like an obvious scam. Even the ones that smell semi-credible get panned on this site.

Do legitimate services actually exist? How does a person go about finding them? Where do I start? Do I just sign up with one of the services that sound borderline reputable and accept that I will have to fight like hell to get paid even a portion of what they promise? I can do some damn fine work, but I'm getting the impression that I'll need some real street-smarts if I actually want to get paid for doing it.
pheelyks  
Dec 05, 2010 | #2
There should be a contract involved, and the company you are contracting with should be a verifiable entity in a country whose legal system you trust (UK companies are registered with the Company House and have a VAT number; US companies are all incorporated in individual states and will be listed on that state's Secretary of State website).